May 18-Sick 2: Electric Boogaloo

image

I lost my voice yesterday, which is a curse for me but a blessing for others. I spent the evening trying to talk to my wife, but could only manage to type out my responses on my phone and show them to her. It’s harder to pretend you’re listening and not just waiting for your turn to speak when you have to start typing your response in the middle of someone’s sentence.

I’m also having trouble sleeping. I usually don’t sleep all that well, but this is ridiculous. I probably have sleep apnea as that condition runs in my family, I also have mild asthma, and I’m overweight. Needless to say I snore louder than a freight train crashing through a nuclear power plant, but since I’m sick there’s an entirely different problem.

I’m coughing a lot during the day, but it’s not that rough. At night, however, I don’t cough at all until I wake up gasping for air and coughing furiously. And let me tell you, waking up every twenty minutes thinking you’re dying and coughing up your lower intestine makes for a really relaxing night of sleep.

I’m sure this will pass fairly soon and I’ll be able to get back to keeping my wife up all night by snoring her face instead of coughing in her face.

Leave a Reply

